Tags

, , , , , ,

Lady in Red
Dress ($44) / Denim Jacket ($98) / Leopard Flats ($50) / Gold and Black Thong Sandals ($40) / Cream Satchel ($41) / Black Bag ($76) / Onyx Necklace ($36) / Evil Eye Ring ($24) /

I just love a maxi dress. They are the perfect transition piece for summer/fall and spring/summer. I created two looks that I think can be interchanged to wear a bunch of different ways. For right now (while it’s still cool), a jean jacket is a classic piece that adds warmth to this type of dress without looking too formal. When you are looking for a jean jacket, it’s always good to think about how it’s going to be worn before you decide on what to get. Do you want it distressed for a super casual look? If it’s for work, does it have clean lines and is it a darker denim? I can’t stand light denim jackets (just call it a quirk); I always say buy a dark denim and a white. They are incredible versatile and I’ve worn both of mine almost completely out. I also made the mistake of getting a jean jacket that was cut in a trendy shape at that time and now never wear it. For some reason, the classic boxy cut of a jean jacket just never goes out of style. So there’s my two cents on that.

For a transition look, wearing this bright red dress with a jacket and funky flats is work appropriate (if you have a more casual office or are a teacher) and adding a statement necklace is a good piece to substitute for a scarf (which is what I’d use if it were the fall.) This Topshop bag is very similar to the Philip Lim 3.1 Pashli satchel, and with a $80 price tag, it’s much more affordable than it’s $850 counterpart. I like the structure of the bag and necklace with the flowing contrast of the dress. For the summer, a pair of simple gold and black thong sandals and a cream bag add simplistic elegance to the look. For the summer, a pair of gold earrings and fantastic ring (like this evil eye from Baublebar that is oh-so-cool) are two simple pieces that truly finish off the look.

What do you think? Is there a way you like to wear maxi dresses during these finicky transition months? Let me know! Happy Tuesday!

