Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Blazing

Pink Skirt (sold out – similar here) / Pink Suede Pumps ($40) / Black Studded Flats ($40) /

This week I’m going to focus on creating looks that are partially or completely made up from items that I’ve used in previous posts. I am in the process of doing a complete closet overhaul and have been inspired to re-purpose some items that I haven’t used in a while. I am taking outfits and laying them out (complete with accessories) and taking pictures so that if I am having a hard time getting dressed I can find inspiration from some of the outfits. (If you’d like to see some of my ideas, make sure to check out my Instagram page! I’ll be updating it as I begin to take pictures of the outfits!)

This blazer is a great piece for several reasons. First of all, tweed is a timeless fabric that everyone, man or woman, should have available to them in some form or another in their wardrobe. The great grey hue to the jacket makes it incredibly versatile, and this particular jacket has just a hint of shimmer to it that dresses it up without making it too flashy. For work, I love pairing this jacket with a bright pink skirt and a printed silk shell. This horse print shirt has a subtle pattern that is whimsical and fun (and would transition well to spring and summer.) You could easily wear heels with this outfit but I like the studded flats to add in some contrast between the femininity of the shirt and skirt. For a fun outfit to wear around town, I paired the blazer with another silk shell and a pair of boot cut jeans. The pink suede pumps add in an unexpected flare and pop of color and would look very ladylike and sweet peeking out from under the jeans. The accessories could all be interchanged for this outfit, as could the shoes (and yes, I would totally rock those pink pumps with the pink skirt – do not be afraid to mix it up!)

Keep an eye out this week for lots of great posts – some of the items will be used two or three times, as I hope this helps to spark your own creativity! Happy Monday!

