Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Safari
Cream Sweater ($27) / Riding Jacket ($78) / Bootcut Stretch Jeans ($114) /
I fear I may be coming down with a cold. I’m in the mood to lay by the TV with a box of tissues and flail around; but alas, I must work. On days when I feel like I’m not at my best, I have found that dressing up can help me feel just a little bit better. For today, I wanted to create a pretty outfit that could be worn for casual Friday or out and about. The whole look is meant to be comfortable but chic; I hope you agree.
I love wearing jeans, but if you’re like me, a stiff pair isn’t exactly comfortable. That’s why I like this pair from Not Your Daughter’s Jeans. They have a little bit of stretch, which is flattering and comfortable. You always want to check the cotton-to-spandex ratio when buying jeans with stretch no matter what size you are. Buying 100% cotton jeans creates a slouchy relaxed look, which is fine in the legs but can look strange when the knees get stretched out. Getting a pair with over 5% spandex does the same thing, so a good rule of thumb is to look for jeans with just a little bit of spandex. Lycra is another good material that gives jeans a little bit of stretch. As for the top, I love the idea of this simple cream shirt with this riding jacket. I like that the jacket only has two buttons so that the waist will be cinched but flair out at the bottom. However – as fabulous as this outfit is, this whole look is pulled together by the accessories. The leopard print shoes compliment the elephant earrings by making the look a little safari-esque, and the wooden chain necklace (although incredibly expensive) ties together all the browns in the outfit nicely. This dainty gold ring from JCrew is a versatile piece that isn’t too overwhelming yet ties into the rest of the look seamlessly. To “polish” off the look (haha, I crack myself up) I love this rich brown Dior nail polish. While I would never spend that much on a bottle of nail polish, the color is one that I haven’t seen elsewhere. Happy hunting!
