Tags

, , , , , , ,

Stormy
If you’re one of 50 million people who are put out with Hurricane Sandy, you’re not alone. Not only is this causing mayhem for people who are trying to either evacuate or stay safe, but it is also causing great unhappiness for the people who are actually working today (myself included). While I can’t change the weather, I can change how I approach dressing for such conditions.
After Oprah featured the Hunter boots on her “Favorite Things” episode a few years back, they have become extremely popular in the US. I have a pair in red and they have come in handy on countless occasions. Why slog around in shoes that aren’t made for rain or snow when you can easily put on a pair of fabulous rain boots? Since rain boots generally come up to the knee, I suggest wearing skinny jeans or leggings with them. I chose this pair of leggings from Lane Bryant because they have the look and feel of a pant while actually being the most stylish and comfortable leggings I’ve ever put on. Pairing an over-the-knee sock with the boots and scrunching them is a great way to keep warm and be fashion forward at the same time. The sweater is a great alternative to a cardigan and tank, and the infinity scarf can be worn when traveling to keep warm. Every wardrobe can use a trench coat since they are so versatile, and this one by Jones New York is sophisticated, well made, and affordable. Add a pair of whimsical earrings and a sassy umbrella to the mix and you’re ready to roll! Here’s to great fashion during the “Frankenstorm”!
