Tags

, , , , , ,

Grey Matter
Avenue Jacket ($54) / Evans Ivory Lace Panel Shirt ($60) /
Hello all! I’ve been on a short hiatus from the blog as The Boyfriend and I have been painting my apartment. The row house I live in was built in 1896 so trying to scrape, clean, and trim everything was quite an undertaking. If you want a relationship building activity, try painting together. It is entertaining if nothing else. Anyway, I’m happy to be back and writing once again!
This outfit makes me happy on so many different levels. The oxblood skirt is form-fitting yet made of a material that has a lot of give which I definitely enjoy. Oxblood is a gorgeous color for fall that is on trend yet not so bold that it will be out of season by next year. The lace panel shirt has a lovely mandarin collar that is flattering on all body shapes. I would tuck the front of the shirt in to show off the pockets and waist of the skirt and leave the back loosely draped. Add a basic black jacket to these pieces and you’ll end up with a fun yet work appropriate outfit. I have used this jacket in a set before and couldn’t resist using it once again; basic black blazers are so boring where there are so many cuts to choose from. Rather than add black accessories to this outfit, I decided that grey was a beautiful match for each of the pieces. The Elliott Lucca bag is a great day-to-night bag since it can be converted to a clutch so easily. I am in love with these earrings – it is hard to see in the picture but they are actually a black, grey, and white python print… how fabulous! Plus, the earrings compliment the pattern on the heel of the pumps without matching too closely, making it look effortless and chic. The cutout on the side of the pump is also a fantastic touch to what could have been simple grey pumps. How pretty! Hope you’re all having a fantastic Tuesday!
