Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Taupe
My always stylish mom snagged a top very similar to the one above for me this past weekend when she was out-of-town. I absolutely love the taupe color and think it is a great staple for fall; however, it got me thinking about what all I could pair with it to truly get the most wear out of it. I decided to do a “one piece: three ways” post to highlight how you can take one item and make it truly versatile in your wardrobe.
For the first look, I thought it would be fun to make a saucy date outfit. I think plus size women often tend to shy away from certain trends (like the bandage skirt shown above) but the trick is to find a way to make it work for your body. This skirt is long enough to give good leg coverage and the slouchy sweater gives the whole look a relaxed feel and leaves you feeling comfortable and not like you’ve been stuffed into a sausage casing. I adore these booties with this outfit because of the skinny gold heel, but if you didn’t like that you could easily pair black pumps with it.
For the second look, I wanted to create a casual outfit that would be good for any type of weekend activity. Since there is a big wine festival close to my home next weekend, I decided to create an outfit based on that activity. The key to wearing leggings at any size is to make sure that your sweater comes down at least two inches below your bottom. This way the leggings aren’t a focal point and it saves you from the “can leggings be worn as pants” debate. I paired the orange bag with this because it breaks up the neutral colors of the set and gives it a pop of color.
For work, this sweater could be worn countless ways. I chose to pair it with a deep purple skirt and mint green embellished flats to keep the outfit fun yet professional at the same time. A ring and simple earrings are all you would need to complete this outfit since the shoes have so much detail. I also like the idea of pairing this deep purple with the taupe – a pair of pants this color would look amazing as well.
Do you have any other ideas for dressing up this top? I’d love to hear how you create outfits based on one item in your own wardrobes!
